14 Animal-Free Foods That Are Not Vegetarian

animal products in vegetarian foodLast night at dinner, two seasoned lacto-vegetarians exchanged an ingredient slap-down about seemingly animal-free foods that really aren’t. My friends talk endlessly about vegetarianism. They can be evangelical, comical and tedious. Don’t hear me wrong.  I’m omnivorous, but eat mostly plants. I love eating and I love eating with friends, but I hate talking about what my friends and I are eating.  But this conversation was an eye-opener.

Animal products often hide in processed foods. As example, dairy derivatives whey and casein, included in commercial baked goods, may be acceptable to vegetarians but avoided by vegans. Where you draw the line is a personal choice, but those choices need to be informed.

How many of these veggie-imposters surprise you?

  1. Beer and Wine,  particularly those made in Britain, use isinglass (a byproduct of fish bladders) in the clarification process. Most is removed in production, but traces can remain.
  2. Fruit Juice frequently contains Vitamin D derived from lanolin (sheep oil), Omega-3 sourced from fish oil, and gelatin (a collagen obtained from beef skin and pig hide). Apple juice is often clarified using isinglass (refer back to Beer and Wine).
  3. Enhanced Breads, as with juices, may include Omega-3 amino acids originating from fish oil. Commercial baked goods may also contain non-vegan ingredients such as milk, eggs, butter, whey, and honey.
  4. Parmesan Cheese and other regional cheeses such as Pecorino Romano, are required by law to use rennet in the curdling process to retain their “authenticity”. Rennet, sometimes called “enzymes” on product labels, is derived from animal stomachs.
  5. Boxed Cake Mix uses beef fat, sometimes listed as lard, as a common ingredient. It’s also present in many cakes, cupcakes, and cookies.
  6. Bagels use a dough conditioner “enzyme L. Cysteine”, commonly sourced from duck and chicken feathers. It’s used in other processed bread products, particularly those served in fast food joints. (Dunkin Donuts, Pizza Hut  and McDonald’s  all admit to the practice respectively in their donuts, garlic bread, and apple pie.)
  7. White Sugar bags typically list only “sugar” as an ingredient, but most processed sugar (including brown and confectioner’s) is whitened by a process that uses bone char.
  8. Red Candy and most any food that’s colored red contains pigments extracted from the female Dactylopius coccus costa.  This red bug dye is typically listed as cochineal, carminic acid or carmine in the ingredients.  It’s found in candy, wine, vinegar, juice and colored pasta. Many candies are also coated with shellac, a resin excreted by the lac bug, which is usually listed as “confectioner’s glaze:”.
  9. Soups, particularly those prepared in restaurant kitchens, are usually made with stock made from chicken, beef, or fish.  Canned vegetable soups can also contain animal stock and gelatin thickeners.
  10. Salad Dressings in restaurants often start with bacon fat for added flavor, undermining the classic vegetarian go-to in restaurants. Caesar dressing contains anchovies, and creamy dressings often include gelatin.
  11. BBQ-Flavored Chips,  well, if you’re tucking into a bag of greasy chips, food purity may not be paramount.  But know that most brands of BBQ-flavored chips get their punch from chicken fat.
  12. Worcestershire Sauce is made with anchovies.
  13. Packaged Peanuts, high in quality protein, are an easy snack, but beware of gelatin coatings.
  14. Breath Mints, Gummy Bears, Marshmallows, Jello and Fruit Jellies frequently contain gelatin made from animal skin and bones.

This duplicity has nutritional, philosophical and  religious implications: a triple motivation for the buyer to beware.   It comes down to buying organic, single ingredient foods.  Or making your own food using these ingredients. Or reading the labels with a dictionary handy.

More reasons for ditching processed foods.

Image of a veggie dog from Shutterstock.

Facebook Comments



Get featured on Green Prophet. Email us with tips and news: [email protected]

9 thoughts on “14 Animal-Free Foods That Are Not Vegetarian”

  1. What’s up to every body, it’s my first go to see of this blog; this
    blog includes awesome and actually good data designed for visitors.

  2. Eric Gibson is an Austin, TX recording artist who writes, performs and produces
    his own unique brand of Alternative music. Eric was born in Richmond,
    VA, and raised in the mean streets of Gainesville,
    FL. He has been playing guitar, a variety of stringed instruments and keyboard since the
    early 90’s. He has performed music, theatrical poetry readings, and performance art in venues all over Florida,
    DC, and Virginia. His first exposure to Alternative music was when he was 13 after his
    parents gave him the Pixies album Bossanova they had gotten off
    of a subscription service. They had given it to him as a means of discarding it,
    but after hearing this strange new music Eric immediately
    decided he wanted to play guitar. After pleading with
    his parents they purchased a 30 dollar acoustic
    guitar at an Art Festival. When he had proven his natural ability, eagerness and
    willingness to learn he was given an electric guitar for Christmas the following
    year. He still uses the same guitar to record to this day.

  3. What’s up colleagues, how is all, and what you
    would like to say regarding this post, in my view its in fact
    remarkable designed for me.

  4. finest food says:

    I am in fact delighted to glance at this website posts which carries lots of valuable data, thanks for providing such data.

  5. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing,
    great written and include approximately all
    important infos. I’d like to look more posts like this .

  6. MJ says:

    Thanks for the article. I didn’t know about the issue with apple juice; it seems so unnecessary, doesn’t it?
    On the topic of sugar, organic standards prohibits the use of bone char in processing sugar, so that is always a safe bet.

  7. Kplan says:

    Re: #7: That’s a hasty generalization. And actually incorrect. Bone char is illegal in the USA, so most white sugars DON’T use it. I researched this when I discovered Domino’s uses it to whiten their sugar (FYI: ALL Domino’s sugar, including Brown Sugar, is made using bone char), and they apparently import much of their sugar sold here in the U.S. from OUTSIDE the U.S.

    Also, you are supporting Domino’s if you buy the brand Florida Crystals. So avoid that as well.

    Re: 11: Same issue: Lays uses chicken fat but last I checked w/the companies (you can e-mail any of them at their site), Wise and — shoot — one other one that I can’t recall, stated they did NOT use chicken fat.

    How about doing an article listing all of these things but offering vegan alternatives (e.g., most bagels made fresh at bagel shops will not contain the Omega-3s, etc.).

  8. Thanks for letting me know about these products that hide the fact that they use animal parts in the manufacture of things most people who are Veggie would expect to be labled properly! I will definately be more careful in future !

Comments are closed.